Thoughts on the New Fall Programming

There is nothing like getting lost in an adventure from a well written book, listening or experiencing tales of conquest or failure from our travels. Sometimes the stress from our daily lives is overwhelming that we just need a good belly laugh that brings tears running down our faces from the jokes. Unfortunately our daily routine and our pockets don’t run deep enough to permit us to find time to travel the world or find time to sit on the stoop and share something amusing with our respective crews.

Well to the rescue to help us with a faux escape of reality, from the comfort of our couches, is the wonderful world of television. On any given night we are able to make a conscious decision on what mood we want to tap into for the night. When I was younger Thursday night was my night to get to bust-a-gut with Martin and Living Single then get all amped up for New York Undercover. However, for years Thursday was just been meh, yet this year Shondaland has decided to take over my viewing appetite with her 1-2-3 punch of Greys, Scandal and her new thriller How to Get Away With Murder.

With the new fall season approximately three weeks complete, I wanted to post my thoughts on the new shows as Grown Folk Real Talk sees it. Prior to the beginning of the season I was very skeptical of How to Get Away With Murder, since the network decided to oversaturate us with the one scene all summer long. Not going to lie, I thought Shonda had another bust on her hands; remember the doctors in the jungle show? Exactly, me either! However, I could not have been further away from the truth, since her new drama/thriller has me thinking and wondering where the story is going to go. It does not have me going oh sniggity snap at the end of an episode like Scandal, but has my brain on overdrive trying to solve the mystery.

Oh how I miss the days of some good comedy, since Martin and Fresh Prince of Bel-Air went off the air. I won’t give my100% seal of approval, but Blackish reminds me of the nonsense that my friends and I say to each other whenever we get together. I was not A fan of the show title, yet the concept intrigued me and I am happy that I gave it a chance. Anthony Anderson is one funny dude and Laurence Fishbourne might only have limited air time but they are straight fire.

We all grew up with Batman and the majority of us are huge fans, so of course Gotham had all the makings of an epic fail. It has been a well written show that is showing the development of some of our most well known villains and of course Bruce Wayne. Having the knowledge of their end game makes this show so far very intriguing. The first episode introduced us to several of the most infamous villains, yet how they became that way is the rollercoaster ride I’m prepared to experience.

Lets take a second and ponder some of the shows that in my humble opinion are a waste of time…

Well folks we all know we hate Mondays in general and Scorpion disappoints to remove the beginning of the work week blues. Apparently it is based on a true story, but fails to capture my attention with the bad acting. I gave it one episode and had to immediately remove all future recordings.

Forever did not look too bad for the little that I saw, yet it did seem like another version of Sherlock Holmes with a twist. Had me wondering where my dear Watson was the entire time.

Of course there a plenty other new shows that want to avoid the dreaded midseason cancellation list. For those shows I await your thoughts and feedback, since you are only as good as your last episode based on your audience. Hopefully their shot at boosting their ratings works and has me programming them in the pvr/dvr. Happy watching!

About grownfolkrealtalk

I am a laid back guy that wants to voice his opinions on topics that are fun, controversial and for grown folk.

Posted on October 11, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment